Have Faith! The Chamber Music of Johanna Magdalena Beyer


Wednesday, May 1, 2013 - 7:30pm
Music Center Recital Hall (UCSC)



Rory Cowal (piano)

Bill Kalinkos (clarinet)

Sheila Willey (soprano)

Zachary Ragent (violin)

William Winant and the UCSC Percussion Ensemble

Polly Malan and the UCSC Resident String Ensemble


German-American composer Johanna Magdalena Beyer (b. Leipzig, 1888; d. New York, 1944) was part of a modernist movement in American composition during the 1930s. Particularly influenced by the radical and prolific Henry Cowell, Beyer's work explores special sonic effects, clusters, sliding tones, dissonant counterpoint, unusual instrument combinations, and the possibilities of the percussion ensemble. The concert is curated by Professor Amy Beal, who is currently writing a book on Beyer for the University of Illinois' American Composers series. 


Free and open to the public.

Doors open at 7:00pm.


parking $4